Beaumont Primary Academy is a member of South Pennine Academies
T: 01484 503111 E:

Beaumont Primary Academy

Welcome to Reception

Welcome to Reception! 

Our Reception classes, Squirrels and Rabbits, are taught by Mrs Thompson and Miss Moorhouse, complemented by Mrs Cummins on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  We are also ably supported by Teaching Assistants,  Miss Gartside, Mrs Gledhill, Miss Quinn, Mrs Asaf, Mrs Arshad and Mrs Vardanyan.  Mr Hobson supports our children to access and explore the outdoor area on Mondays and Tuesdays.

In Reception we learn through 'carpet sessions' (as a class, with with an adult leading), group activities and games, and one:one.  At Beaumont Primary Academy we firmly believe that children learn through every interaction and conversation they have.  We learn in the classroom, outside and whenever possible, we go off site to get first hand experience of the local area and other interesting locations, such as the historic and beautiful setting of Beaumont Park.

We prioritise reading, writing and maths teaching, to give our children the best foundation as they move through their education.  Alongside this, we promote independence, confidence and respect for ourselves as well as others.  We support the children as they make friendships and learn to manage their emotions.  Our aim for our children is that they leave Reception as confident, thoughtful, and resilient learners, who try hard and are not easily discouraged.

And we have lots of fun along the way!